Pace Law School Annual Grand Moot Court Competition

POST WRITTEN BY: Cassandra Castellano (J.D. candidate 2013-2017, Pace Law School)

Pace Law School hosted its annual Grand Moot Court Competition this past Thursday, March 31, 2016. The four finalists of the Grand Moot Court Semi-Final Competition, Sarah Main, Alex Lowell, Samantha Hazen and Andrea Osgood, argued before prestigious U.S. District Court Judges: The Honorable Loretta A. Preska, The Honorable Naomi Reice Buchwald, The Honorable Jed S. Rakoff, The Honorable Cathy Seibel and U.S. Magistrate Judge, The Honorable Judith C. McCarthy.

Grand Moot 2016 2

The students argued the merits of a fictitious case Brendan Smith v. Luis Peralta, concerning two constitutional issues:

1. Whether subjective malice is one of the elements of a 42 U.S.C. § 1983 malicious prosecution claim based on the Fourth Amendment; and

2. Whether Peralta was the subject of an unreasonable seizure that lacked probable cause for purposes of a 42 U.S.C. § 1983 malicious prosecution claim based on the Fourth Amendment.

The class, Advanced Appellate Advocacy, is under the direction of Professor Louis Fasulo, coordinated by Professor Alissa Bauer and supported by the team of Professors Jennifer Arlin, Elyse Moskowitz and Danielle Shalov.  The Professors guided the students throughout the fall semester in writing their appellate briefs and preparing for oral arguments. The students were presented with challenging questions from a challenging bench of Judges.

Grand Moot 2016 3

The Gerber Glass Courtroom was packed with observers eager to watch the arguments, followed by a wonderful reception in the Tudor Room.

Congratulations to the competitors! Sarah Main received the award for Best Advocate and Andrea Osgood received the award for Best Brief.

Sarah Main, Alex Lowell and Samantha Hazen, will now move on to compete in the New York City Bar’s National Moot Court Competition. Andrea Osgood, will compete at the Dean Jerome Prince Evidence Moot Court Competition.

Special thanks to: Advocacy Administrator Loretta Musial, Advocacy Program Director and Professor Louis V. Fasulo, the guest Judges, the Advanced Appellate Advocacy Professors for their work with the class and for supporting the students at this event, Dean David Yassky, Chartwell Food Services for providing refreshments throughout the day, the 1L class for supporting the event, Pace Law Advocacy Honor Board Directors: Cassandra Castellano, Brianne Cunningham, Vittoria Fiorenza, Michael Giordano, W. Paul Alvarez and Michael Pesin-Virovets, along with the Board Members who all once again managed an excellent competition.

Congratulations to Sarah Main, Alex Lowell, Samantha Hazen and Andrea Osgood on this impressive achievement! We look forward to following your competitions next Spring!​

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *